A discussion forum for history enthusiasts everywhere

HomeHome  Recent ActivityRecent Activity  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  SearchSearch  

Share | 

odour of sanctity

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ComicMonster
Consulatus
ComicMonster

odour of sanctity Empty
PostSubject: odour of sanctity   odour of sanctity EmptyThu 10 Dec 2020, 08:18

Hello!
I have a doubt (not that is anyhing new).
When contrasting the concepts of cleanliness, modern and medieval, the book I translate mentions the “odour of sanctity”, the known notion that the dead body of a saint smells good because it is free from sin. The Brothers Karamazov, dedicates a full chapter to that question.
In Spanish this notion spells as “olor de santidad” and when I studied philosophy professors used to explain that the origin of the expression comes from a jocular confusion. In fact, some medieval scribe would have said somewhere that a particular saint was acclaimed as such by a crowd, so received in “loor de santidad” (“loor” meaning “praise” in old vernacular): the guy was praised by a multitude, so he was doomed to be a saint.
Then the phonetical resemblance between “loor” and “olor” created from scratch the idea that a saint should smell well after death (and even alive) and the Church and the people started to sniff reputedly godly persons in order to reckon them as saints or not.