A discussion forum for history enthusiasts everywhere

HomeHome  Recent ActivityRecent Activity  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  SearchSearch  

Share | 

stynkande

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ComicMonster
Consulatus
ComicMonster

stynkande Empty
PostSubject: stynkande   stynkande EmptyMon 11 Dec 2017, 15:30

Hello everyone! I am new to this (great) forum, that I have anyway checked a number of times.

I am translating a book connected with the History of Homosexuality and come accross a word that simply can't understand nor find anywhere…

This is the sentence: "The spiritual guide for the nuns of England in the early thirteenth century, the Ancrene Riwle, mentions (although it says that it will not mention) ‘the scorpion of stynkande Leccherie’".

Does anyone know the meaning of "stynkande"? I gather it must be associated to some kind of same-sex relationship between the religious sisters of a nunery.

I really hope you can help me out of this bog… Embarassed 

With a zillion thanks in advance for your help,

CM Smile
Back to top Go down
https://vueltaalmundo.es.tl
Meles meles
Censura
Meles meles

stynkande Empty
PostSubject: Re: stynkande   stynkande EmptyMon 11 Dec 2017, 16:04

It's in early Middle English... 'the scorpion of stynkande Leccherie', means simply 'the scorpion of stinking lechery'.

The full quotation from the "Ancrene Riwle" ie ancient rule, is (using original orthography including the old letters Þ and ȝ):

"Þe scorpion of stynkande Leccherie nyl ich nouȝth nempny, for Þe foule filÞe of Þe foule name for it miȝth done harme in to clene hertes."

ie, the scorpion of stinking Lechery I will not name for the foul filth of the foul name, for it might do harm to clean hearts.

PS: ¿Cómo está progresando la traducción?

Last edited by Meles meles on Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:36; edited 4 times in total (Reason for editing : had trouble with my thorns - Þs)
Back to top Go down
nordmann